Jeanne Owens, author

Blog about author Jeanne Owens and her writing

RIP My Sweet Shadow

34 Comments

Yesterday, I had to make one of the hardest decisions a pet owner has to make. My sweet kitty, Shadow, had been sick for the last couple of months with IBD and an intestinal lymphoma and, unfortunately, the treatment did not seem to be helping him. He seemed to be growing weaker and, just in general, was not the happy kitty he’d been. So yesterday afternoon, the decision was made to help him cross over. 😦  He is now over the Rainbow Bridge with my sweet angel Cinnamon, the miniature poodle he grew up with.

IM000662.JPG

I had him since he was a kitten, and he had just turned 14 years old last month.

I will miss you, my sweet, loving boy. I will miss you curling up next to me on the couch, and I will miss you climbing into my lap to reach up and lick my earlobes while kneading my shoulders. I will even miss cleaning up the presents you would occasionally catch and leave on the back porch.

140510_002

My Shadow

No matter what some superstitious people may think about black cats, you were the best and sweetest kitty and I was blessed to have you. Run free and play at the Rainbow Bridge with your fur sister Cinnamon, my Shadow, and one day I will see you both again.

 

Author: jowensauthor

I'm a geeky, animal/cat-loving author of Fantasy and YA Fiction. I'm a supporter of animal charities such as the WWF. I'm also a fan of anime and sci-fi/fantasy. I'm an avid reader as well, and enjoy mainly reading fantasies, mysteries, and books about animals. I have a B.A. in History with a minor in English. I also dabble in making jewelry, reading tarot, and am interested in the paranormal. You can find out more about me and my various books and writings at my website: http://jeanneowens.weebly.com. You can also find me on Facebook, Google+, Tumblr, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

34 thoughts on “RIP My Sweet Shadow

  1. Oh God Jeanne. I’m so, so sorry for your loss. I’m crying along with you right now.😪 For what it’s worth, you made the right and caring decision. As you said, Shadow and Cinnamon are now reunited. I hope my little Lacey meets up with them.
    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is making me cry too. I am so sorry! Oh why oh why can’t animals have longer lives o this earth. They are way too short. God bless you during this difficult time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. By the way…any superstitions about black cats are ridiculous! A cat is a cat, just like a human is a human.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I grieve with you. On September 11, we lost our 9 and a half year old pit bull mix, Corki, to a swift moving cancer. We knew the end was near when he refused cheese, his all-time favorite treat.

    Our daughter was not quite 3 when he joined our family as a rescue pup. Pit bulls used to be known as the Nanny Dog, and Corki took his duty to Lise and her then not quite six year old brother very seriously. He’d relaxed in the last year or two (fifteen year old boy is taller than me now, and even his Girl, at 12, didn’t need so much care.)

    He wasn’t loud or obtrusive, but he was generally near, and loved to please his people. He was a mama’s boy, so I miss his quiet nearness keenly. I miss his big, tongue-lolling pitty grin, and even the way he had of putting all 75 pounds of his roughly floor-colored self right in the middle of traffic patterns, especially in the dark…

    May the sweet moments be solace against the sorrow. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My Angel, I am so sorry for your loss. Know that your Angel baby is with you and near you now. He sends his love, wants you to know that you made the right decision (never doubt that), and thanks you for being such a great mother to him. You’ll have moments when it seems like or feels like he’s near, and he is. My dear, your Angels are near and he is in good hands. Sensing you lots of light and love.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jeannie, Shadow was loved by all who knew him. He will be in our hearts until we all meet again!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sorry, Jeanne. I’ve sent a few to the bridge myself and it’s never easy. You gave him a wonderful home and lots of love and, when the time came, you let him go, as hard as it was. He’ll always be a part of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m so very, very sorry for your loss. No doubt my Kissy and my black cat Pyewacket met Shadow at Rainbow Bridge. (((Hugs)))

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So sorry to read this sad news about your sweet kitty, Shadow. It is always very painful to say goodbye to a furry friend. Please cherish all those warm and beautiful memories in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. There was no way I could ‘like’ this post, it is just too heartbreaking.

    What I can say is that I know exactly how you feel, making this sort of decision is just awful and the result doesn’t make it any better even when some might say you have alleviated Shadow’s suffering, how could it?

    What is so very heartening is that Shadow was loved and knew he was loved and I am sure that he knew that your decision was for the best.

    I have always liked black Cats and as with the rest of the nonsense about Cats in general I don’t think that they are lucky whether that luck be good or bad, like all Cats I am sure that Shadow was a marvelous companion who completely and utterly deserved the love, affection and copious treats you gave him.

    Purrs,

    The Cat

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I heard somewhere that it only hurts as much as you love them. (Which means that sometimes it hurts a lot.)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am so sorry! Parting with pets is always a tough time – it was brave of you to take this decision. I hope he is enjoying his time up there in kitty heaven!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment