Jeanne Owens, author

Blog about author Jeanne Owens and her writing


6 Comments

Opening – Tuesday Use It In A Sentence #tuesdayuseitinasentence

“Honey, I can’t find Hex or Jinx anywhere! If we don’t find the cats soon, we’ll be late for the v-e-t!”

Jessica chuckled at Harold’s frantic voice. “Don’t worry, dear. Let me show you a trick.”

She went into the kitchen,  and Harold stood in the doorway, watching her. She took a can of tuna out of the pantry and plugged in the can opener. “I’d stand out of the way if I were you,” she warned him.

She attached the can of tuna to the can opener and pressed the button. The can had barely started turning when the sound of paws thumping on the hardwood floor sounded outside the kitchen. Startled, Harold quickly stepped out of the way before he got knocked down by two black cats that suddenly came running into in the kitchen, seeming to have appeared out of nowhere.

“What the -” he said, staring at them.

Jessica chuckled. “No matter where they are, they always come running the instant they hear me opening a can of food. Let me take care of them. You get the carriers.”


This post is part of the Tuesday Use It In A Sentence prompt, “opening”:

#tuesdayuseitinasentence ~ Opening

 

(note: the cats’ names come from a dream I once had where I had two black cats named Hex and Jinx)

(pictures found on Pinterest)