Jeanne Owens, author

Blog about author Jeanne Owens and her writing


8 Comments

Got Some Cash? – Stream of Consciousness Saturday #SoCS

socsbadge2016-17

 

Willie was driving down the road when he saw a young man with a backpack standing  along the side of the road, holding out his hand with his thumb pointing up.  It was a long way to the next town, and the young man seemed a little worse for wear and probably low on cash, so Willie decided to be nice and pulled over.

“Need a ride?” Willie asked.

“Yes, please,” said the young man.

“Get in, then.”

The young man thanked him and did so.

“Where you headed?” Willie asked as the young man got settled in the passenger seat.

“Nowhere in particular,” he replied as Willie pulled back out onto the road.

“The nearest town is about 20 miles ahead. I’m stopping there for the night. I can drop you off there, if that’s ok?”

“That would be fine, thanks. I’m Waylon, by the way.”

“Nice to meet you. I’m Willie.”

They drove in silence for a few minutes, then Waylon spoke up. “I…I hate to ask this, since you’re being so nice by giving me a ride, but…I need some Cash. Have you got some?”

“Sure do, son,” Willie replied, and he punched a button on his radio.

Johnny Cash started playing through the speakers.

Waylon sighed and settled back in his seat with a smile. “Perfect.”

Willie reached into his pocket and pulled out a $20 bill and handed it to Waylon. “Here. You can have this, too.”

Waylon shook his head. “No, thank you. Johnny’s all the Cash I need.”

 


This silly story is part of the Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt, “cash”:

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for #SoCS August 13/16