Jeanne Owens, author

Blog about author Jeanne Owens and her writing

Kids (and Pets) in Hot Cars- The Preventable Tragedy

Leave a comment

A very important reminder! Don’t leave kids or pets in cars, please!

Rumpydog

Today is Heat Stroke Prevention Day. It’s designed to remind people of the danger of leaving children in cars.

I know, we talk this subject to death. And yet death is the result for 19 kids so far this year. The adults responsible include a hospital CEO and a foster father. And who knows HOW many animals have died?

As I've said before, Rumpy loves to lie out in the hot sun. I stay out with him and make him come in after a few minutes. As I’ve said before, Rumpy loves to lie out in the hot sun. I stay out with him and make him come in after a few minutes.

So why DO people leave kids in cars?

A study of the phenomenon found that: 

51% – child “forgotten” by caregiver

29% – child playing in unattended vehicle

18% – child intentionally left in vehicle by adult (yes, they knew what they were doing, but didn’t think anything would happen)

1% – circumstances unknown

With animals, it’s almost always an intentional choice.

I, personally…

View original post 327 more words

Author: jowensauthor

I'm a geeky, animal/cat-loving author of Fantasy and YA Fiction. I'm a supporter of animal charities such as the WWF. I'm also a fan of anime and sci-fi/fantasy. I'm an avid reader as well, and enjoy mainly reading fantasies, mysteries, and books about animals. I have a B.A. in History with a minor in English. I also dabble in making jewelry, reading tarot, and am interested in the paranormal. You can find out more about me and my various books and writings at my website: http://jeanneowens.weebly.com. You can also find me on Facebook, Google+, Tumblr, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

