Jeanne Owens, author

Blog about author Jeanne Owens and her writing

Of music and writing

10 Comments

When I’m writing, I usually like to have a little music on in the background. For me, silence is more distracting that having something on in the backgroud: music, tv, etc. I don’t really have anything in particular I listen to when I write, like a theme song or something. I just listen to whatever I’m in the mood for. Usually it ends up being rock music – metal, classic, or alternative – or j-pop/j-rock, or classical music. The last couple of times it was classical. But I also like country music, jazz, and big band music as well.  But whatever I end up listening to usually gets zoned out when I get involved in writing the story or whatever. So, what do you all like to listen to when you’re working?

This post is part of SoCS:http://lindaghill.wordpress.com/2014/06/20/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-2114/

Author: jowensauthor

I'm a geeky, animal/cat-loving author of Fantasy and YA Fiction. I'm a supporter of animal charities such as the WWF. I'm also a fan of anime and sci-fi/fantasy. I'm an avid reader as well, and enjoy mainly reading fantasies, mysteries, and books about animals. I have a B.A. in History with a minor in English. I also dabble in making jewelry, reading tarot, and am interested in the paranormal. You can find out more about me and my various books and writings at my website: http://jeanneowens.weebly.com. You can also find me on Facebook, Google+, Tumblr, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

10 thoughts on “Of music and writing

  1. Ooh, nice thought! Me too, I am almost always listening to something, most often classical or Sometimes listening to a particular song inspires me to write something!

    Like

  2. Oooh, jrock? I’ve been listening to Buck-Tick almost constantly for the past three years. Who do you listen to?
    Thanks very much for participating in SoCS, Jeanne! I enjoyed your post and I agree – while writing, music is the perfect thing. 😀

    Like

    • Another Jrock fan? Awesome 🙂 I love Hyde and L’arc en Ciel, and Dir en Grey. Also Hide. I also like a lot of anime theme songs. I have a couple of stations on Iheartradio I stream, for Hyde and Dir en Grey, that play other jrock and jpop bands, too.

      Like

  3. Enjoyed your post! I, too, listen to music – mostly rock, jazz, blues, maybe a little country. Depends on my mood & what I am writing!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Thanks for the Great Turnout! | lindaghill

  5. I like to write without background noise or music. Maybe because I am trained as a musician, I find that it draws my mind away from my writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

